Answers to the most

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are some of the most common questions we get asked about our company and the Sheese range of products. If there’s something you’re unsure of and can’t see it in the list below let us know and we’ll be happy to answer your questions!

The Food Information Regulations specify the 14 allergens to be aware of. Sheese currently contains soya but is free from:

  • Gluten
  • Peanuts
  • Tree nuts
  • Celery
  • Mustard
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Sesame
  • Fish
  • Crustaceans
  • Molluscs
  • Sulphites
  • Lupin

Our Sheese products are all chloresterol free.

Yes, our factory is 100% animal and dairy free. Our products are all suitable for a vegan diet and for individuals that are lactose intolerant.

Yes, all our new products are made with coconut oil and melt beautifully. This includes our slices, blocks, grated and wedge varieties with the exception of our Hard Italian style (which isn’t meant to melt!)

Yes, you can replace traditional cheese with one of the Bute Island Sheeses when preparing any one of your favorite recipes. You simply have to pay attention to the cooking time and conditions as traditional cheeses differ compared to cheeses with vegetable oils in terms of their behaviour during the cooking process.

Yes, most of our products must be stored in the refrigerator. Although our new Ambient temperature Creamy Sheese is a very stable product and will keep out of the refrigerator.

We do not recommend freezing any Sheese products as they will undergo alterations in texture as well as in their other organoleptic features.

The BB date is generally printed on the bottom of the package (unless otherwise specified by a customer which will sometimes position it on the rear label) and on the side of the lid of the soft Creamy Sheese.

No, Sheese products must be consumed by the BB date printed on the package in order to maintain all their organoleptic features.

No, Bute Island does not add a monosodium glutamate (MSG) flavour-enhancer to any of its products.

Yes, some of our products contain maize starch (corn starch)

Yes, all Kosher Certified – except for Cheddar with Caramelised Onion & Cheddar with Jalapenos

Yes, our products are made of non-genetically modified ingredients (GMO free).

None of our products contain any animal products or by-products. All of our products are certified vegan.

Once opened, we recommend consuming Creamy Sheese within 7 days and the block Sheese within 10 days.

No, none of our products contain palm oil.

Our products are free of preservatives and artificial ingredients.

No, this is not something we use in our products.

Yes, our Sheese products are all gluten free. We require gluten-free ingredients practices from our suppliers and commit to a gluten-free environment in our manufacturing practices.

We pronounce Sheese as “Sheeeese” – Just like cheese, but Sh instead of Ch.

Yes we do – we export Sheese worldwide. You can find more information about our distribution network in our Where to Buy section, or contact our sales team direct for more information.

Please submit a request form on our website and we will e-mail you back with stockist information, or check our distributors map for your local wholesaler.

We’re always in the research and development process for many new products ideas. At this time, we can’t confirm what exciting products will come next, but you can like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for on-going updates, information, and promotions!

The Tesco Free From range is exclusive to Tesco and you won’t find them anywhere else. Here are the flavours that are in the Tesco Free From range:

  • Blue Style Wedge (with mould effect)
  • Cheddar Style with Jalapeno & Chilli
  • Mature Cheddar Wedge
  • Smoked Cheddar Style (round)
  • Wensleydale Style with Cranberries
  • Sliced Red Leicester Style
  • Grated Mozzarella Style
  • Grated Hard Italian Style (Parmesan)
  • Soft Cheese
  • Soft Cheese with peppercorns
  • Goats Style Cheese

Register for our newsletter